medusae

Detail of the copper Medusa heads* that surround the carousel house in Asbury Park.

Asbury Park notes:

First off, Madame Marie died last Friday, June 27, just nine days after I featured her. She was 93.

Secondly, someone threw… a raw hamburger? a large chunk of watermelon? at my car–about an inch below the driver’s side window–while I was driving through Asbury Park last Wednesday. Having heard the ear-shattering THUNK with which it hit, I’m relieved that there doesn’t seem to be any permanent body damage. Remember–Asbury Park is looking up, but it ain’t there yet.

*Actually, as far as I can tell, nobody’s entirely sure what these faces really represent. We all kind of assume they’re Medusae, but we’re not certain what Warren Whitney was thinking when he decided to add these faces to his design.

