look out!

I am SO DARN PUNNY.

One thing we see with a certain amount of regularity in the summer months is PLANE ADVERTISING. This is the Jersey Shore, and there are an awful lot of people on the beach during the day; what better target audience is there than a large group of people who already have their wallets out to pay for beach badges and spend their days looking up at the sky?

A few days ago, I actually saw some skywriting above my house (which is much less common than banner-dragging). Unfortunately, the writing was, from my perspective, upside down and partially obstructed by trees, so I could only make out a word or two (involving “1-800” or “.COM”) and the advertisement was totally lost on me.

This plane here was actually part of a fleet of five. They were spaced out enough that I couldn’t even see them all at the same time, much less get them all in the same frame. Having closely examined my photographs of their individual banners, they all seem to be advertising a local cable/voice/internet provider.

Common as they are, I still like looking at ’em. They strike me as being a little bit old-fashioned, like Burma-Shave signs.

